Floods Around Clifford's Tower
When the Norman armies of William the Conquerer captured the city in 1068, their headquarters were near the river; one castle on each bank. Two conical mounds were constructed, each surrounded by a moat and topped by a wooden watch tower. Although both mounds remain, only one still has a tower.
In 1190, the wealthy Jews of York took refuge in the castle keep, seeking refuge from the wave of anti-Semitism which swept the country. Panic stricken inside the Tower, they were too terrified by the noise of the mob outside to open the gates to admit the Governor, and an assault on the Tower was ordered. Rather than fall into the hands of their enemies, the Jews in despair killed themselves and set fire to the tower. Some 150 men, women and children perished in the massacre.
Henry III rebuilt the tower about 50 years later, constructing an unusual stone keep on the mound. The quatrefoil formation is unique in England - there is only one other similar keep in the world! The tower is made up of three turrets and a rectangular gateway, which houses the chapel. In the 17th century, the royal arms and those of the Clifford family were placed above the entrance, and the keep became known as Clifford's Tower.
Until the 18th century, Clifford's Tower was the main prison for the city.
This picture shows the Tower during the record floods of November 2000, when the Tower almost had a moat for the first time in hundreds of years!
Floods Around Cliffords Tower has been reproduced as a Giclee on Watercolour Paper.
Restricted to just 850 copies, each is hand signed and numbered by the artist.
Presented in a 16x24" mount